Completing tasks 2 minute read

Click the checkbox beside a task to mark it as complete. You can choose to keep completed tasks visible by setting that preference at the team level.

When you’re finished with a task, you can click the checkbox (to the left of the task name) to complete it. 

completing-tasks.1.png?mtime=20161124124

You can also quickly complete a task by hitting Shift-C on your keyboard.

Once you do, a check mark will appear, the task name will grey out, and the task will disappear from the active project. Even though it’s no longer active, you can still find this task by using the team search in the sidebar or scrolling to the end of the project, clicking “Completed Tasks,” and searching manually.

completing-tasks.2.png?mtime=20161124124

In some instances, you may need to reopen a completed task. To do so, just click the check mark to restore the empty checkbox. Your task will be added back to the active project it was originally in.

completing-tasks.3.png?mtime=20161124124


If the task you’re looking for was filed in a project that has been completed, you can still use the search bar to look for it or click "Completed Projects" in Favorites to search for it manually. Tasks in completed projects cannot be reopened and must have their project restored first.

completing-tasks.4.png?mtime=20161124124

Clear Completed Tasks Manually

If your organization would prefer to see completed tasks in the active project view to keep track of how much is being completed each day or week (and to see how much there is left to complete), you can enable the clear completed tasks manually feature for individual teams.

completing-tasks.5.png?mtime=20161124124

To do so, click the v icon next to the organization name on the left side of the blue header bar and select "Teams."

completing-tasks.6.png?mtime=20161124124

Then click the v next to the name of the team you want to enable the preference in and select "Edit Team." 

completing-tasks.7.png?mtime=20161124124

On the "Edit Team" dialog, toggle on the switch next to "Clear completed tasks manually." 

completing-tasks.8.png?mtime=20161124124

Going forward, any tasks you complete will remain in the project view, though greyed out. 

completing-tasks.9.png?mtime=20161124124

To clear them, simply click the v next to the project name in the sidebar or at the top of the project view and select "Clear completed tasks."

You can also use the keyboard shortcut Shift-^-K to clear your completed tasks more quickly.
You're Done