Flow Features: Team Management

By Luke on November 11, 2013

Flow has been redesigned from the ground up to make it easier for teams to get things done. We’d like to take the time to highlight some of the biggest changes to Flow, so that you can see how we’ve made it easier than ever to work effectively together.

Team Management Improvements

Organizations have become more fluid and dynamic than ever before. People come and go from your company, and ever-shifting teams are involved with multitudes of projects. We've improved Flow to address this.

It's now easier to manage your teams and your account. Everything is now organized around workspaces under the control of an account owner (and appointed admins).

Workspaces can be created for any of the ways you define your company's teams–such as by product, by job function, or by location. The owner or admins can then invite team members to the proper workspaces. This means people see the work that's important to them, and not updates from unrelated parts of the company.

Last time, we demonstrated how easy it is to add team members. Today, we want to show you how Flow lets you remove people from your workspaces easily, without losing their tasks or activity.

Removing Team Members

It's easy to remove people from your workspaces. Just access your Workspace Preferences:

Accessing Workspace Preferences

and edit the members of that workspace:

Editing Workspace Members

Inheriting Tasks

When someone leaves your company, a significant amount of their work might still be stored in Flow. You don't want to lose this valuable information; you probably even want that information to be passed to the person who is transitioning in.

With this in mind, we made it possible to choose someone to inherit all of the tasks controlled by a removed team member. This way, not only will the leaving member's tasks be passed on, but their replacement will be able to pick up all the threads of existing projects.

Alternatively, you can assign the tasks to an administrator who will re-assign the tasks across your team.

Assigning Task Heirs

Removal reminders

In all of the tasks with which the removed person was previously involved, an update will be inserted to remind other stakeholders that the removed person is gone. This means they'll be free to discuss the topic, and they won't be left hanging, waiting for the removed person to weigh in.

We've still got plenty to share about the new Flow. So keep watching the blog for feature news. If you're not yet using Flow, or haven't seen the new version, why don't you try it for free for 30 days?